Red or Pink Borders/Screens in Route Manager V8
As you use RM and look up a record such as a Customer, Transactions, Product, etc., you may notice that the area around the screen may change to a different color. The two colors that you may discover are red and hot pink. The hot pink color is primarily a multi-user warning of another users activity in the program.
Resolution is partly knowing the meaning of the red and hot pink warning.
The second part is knowing what to do when the alerts appear on your desktop screen.
Here is the meaning of each.
RED WARNING
When a red border is seen/appears, this means the record is marked to be deleted. This is the first step in deleting a record. The record may have been deleted by you earlier or by another user of the program.
When RM marks a record for deletion, (red warning is present), the record is still stored in the RM2000 program. There is still a possibility of retrieving the information. The information itself is reserved and doesn't display in related fields (ie, unposted invoices if deleted do not show up in the Open Invoices screen)
The actual removal of data only happens after packing or rebuilding the data. The data removal will then be permanent.
Until that time, use the steps below to retrieve the deleted record.
You will notice that when you delete a record the delete icon changes.
It now becomes an undelete icon. This means if you click on the undelete button, you are given the opportunity to RECALL the record or retrieve it. The action is completed by clicking on the button and answering ‘Yes’ when it asks “do you wish to undelete the record”.
When the record is recalled, it will no longer have a red border around the edge of the screen and the information returns.
NOTE: If a customer attempts to delete one of their customers from the info screen, this is an incorrect method of removal as it only removes information from the customer screen. If the customer was deleted with a balance, a new customer created with the same number will pick up ghost records from the original customer of that number. Advise usage of the ARCHIVE tool.
HOT PINK WARNING
If you see a hot pink border around the screen, this means another user is editing the record you are attempting to access. You will not be allowed to make changes until the other person has finished their changes and left that program activity. If you click on the modify key and it does not turn Hot Pink, you may make your changes.
The hot pink warning is used to maintain data integrity. You may also see this screen in certain update processes as well. To access the record, wait a few seconds and you should be able to use the record. It is also a good idea to save records quickly after you make changes so others can make their needed changes and release the record to the next user.
Note: If the border is hot pink around a screen that is not actually being edited by another user, the user may need to perform clear locks to completely close the open table. If this does not work, remlocks or ending the user connection to the server may be a solution as well.